Summer Resolutions

It’s such a cliche, but it’s so true; everything is better in the summer.  I get to show off my legs in flowy skater dresses, high wasted shorts and mini skirts (much to my parents chagrin). My skin gets tanner, my hair seems bouncier, and I don’t have to spend 8 hours of my day rotating through 8 periods of utter boredom.VIVA SENIOR YEAR! 3 down, one to go. But this summer is going to be probably one of the roughest I’ve encountered, because I will be interning and probably working while simultaneously focusing on writing essays for scholarships and studying for the ACT.

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about balance, and whether or not it’s an achievable goal. Part of me knows I’m going to have a buckle down and really WORK, while the other part of me screams that this year has been NOTHING but work, and that a few months to wander around Georgetown and DC is exactly what I need. The work is not optional. I’m going to do it. I just also have to think about not making this summer a wasted one in which I spend all my hours holed up in my house on gorgeous blindingly sunny days, wasting selfie opportunities and the money I just spent on new sunglasses. Just kidding.

I want to spend this summer in harmony with my future plans and my current happiness. I plan on spending a lot of hours working and just as many exploring my city and spending time with my friends and my family. One of my other summer resolutions is to meet some new people. To make some new friends, or to get closer to those who I’m friendly with now but don’t consider myself really close to. I plan on laughing a lot and maybe even taking some hikes. One of my major goals is to find a gorgeous little book store hidden somewhere, and to spend an entire day there in some comfy chair, lost in a novel. The point is that while balance may be unachievable, even in the midst of a really hectic time in your life personal happiness should always always come first. I think a lot of us forget that the goal in life is not to make as much money as we can regardless of the effects on our mental state. The goal is to find something or somethings that make you tick, and do those things, even if it’s on the side of a “mo money mo problems” type job. I think that some people don’t realize that until they are way into their career path and feel like their in too deep to dig themselves out.  In my young age I don’t have a ton of experience, and I don’t know where I’m going or what the hell I’m doing, but feel like I’ll always know how to keep myself happy. Bookstores and coffee and long conversations with friends and family. It’s pretty simple. It’s never to late for a resolution, and I feel like summer is always a fresh start. I have a feeling it’s going to be a great one.

XOXO,

Eden

summer

An accurate description of my life

My summer goals in one picture

Leave a comment